Summertime New Vinyl Thursday!

It’s Summertime New Vinyl Thursday! Check out these HOT new vinyl arrivals:

Adele – 25 (180 Gram Vinyl)

Alice Cooper – Dada (back To The 80’s Exclusive, Colored Vinyl, Orange, Indie Exclusive)

Alice Cooper – Flush The Fashion (Colored Vinyl, Green, Indie Exclusive)

Alice Cooper – Zipper Catches Skin (back To The 80’s Exclusive, Black & Clear Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

Childish Gambino – Camp

Childish Gambino – “Awaken, My Love”

Chris Hazelton’s Boogaloo Seven- The Basement Beat (newest release from the reigning king of KC organ jazz! Can’t wait to hear this one and we have the VERY limited edition colored vinyl)

Cigarettes After Sex – Cigarettes After Sex (Digital Download Card)

Concrete Blonde – Bloodletting

The Doors – L.A. Woman (180 Gram Vinyl, Reissue)

Dave Matthews Band- Come Tomorrow

Weekly Review:

Dave Matthews Band – Come Tomorrow

It seems hard to believe that it’s been six years since the last studio album from Dave Matthews Band. Since the bands beginning you could expect an album from Dave and crew about every two to three years and for the most part they were predictable.  A funky jazz jam band of super talented musicians that combined musical elements in ways that defy the ear (and the mind). Dave Matthews Band at its core has always been a fusion of musical elements. That core, much like the signature sound is changing. If I am being honest that is not a bad thing.

Before we get into the new, we have to remember the old. Included in the album are some older tracks like Can’t Stop and The Idea of You have been in live rotation since 2006.  Can’t Stop could have been a track on the album Before These Crowded Streets  which was released in 2008.  These tracks include original saxophonist LeRoi Moore and the only appearance of long time violinist Boyd Tinsley. Tinsley has taken time off from the band, and his absence is noticed, but not necessarily as missed on the album as it would be during the live show.  While nostalgia is evident by some of the older songs, there is a sense of growth, acceptance and contemplation on this album.

Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin) opens the album in a sprawling, up tempo swell of sound and emotion. As a parent, there is a profound sense of joy and nostalgia within this song, which is not about a Samurai Cop (the movie that was on TV when this song was recorded) but about the birth of a child.

Feeding from that sense of joy, Matthews remains relatively optimistic on this album. Here on Out, That Girl Is You, The Idea Of You, and Come Tomorrow are all up beat – happy tunes (which might be what we need in these otherwise unhappy times. While aging Dave seems more grounded in who he is,  Black and Blue Bird hints at the inner turmoil that remains.

Like the builds on most of the songs, this album did not grab me right away. It took a few listens to really start to notice the little things (sounds between the songs like in Before These Crowded Streets – listen for the ringing between Rapunzel/Last Stop and Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin)/Can’t Stop on Come Tomorrow). It’s not the Best of What’s Around but it’s still pretty good.

Brad Simmons

Don Cherry – Home Boy,Sister Out (2PC)

Dr. Dre – Chronic

Eric B & Rakim – Don’t Sweat The Technique (2PC)

E 40 – Federal

Florence + the Machine – How Big How Blue How Beautiful (2PC)

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

Frank Zappa – Chunga’s Revenge

Gorillaz – The Now Now (Digital Download Card)

George Michael – Listen Without Prejudice (180 Gram Vinyl)

Glass Animals – Zaba

Jason Isbell – The Nashville Sound

Los Lobos – How Will The Wolf Survive (Back To The 80’s Exclusive, Indie Exclusive)

Madonna – Who’s That Girl (Back To The 80’s Exclusive, Indie Exclusive)

Manchester Orchestra – A Black Mile To The Surface (Digital Download Card, 2PC)

Michael Jackson – Dangerous (180 Gram Vinyl, 2PC)

Notorious B.I.G – Greatest Hits (rsc 2018 Exclusive, Indie Exclusive)

Nine Inch Nails – Add Violence (Extended Play, 180 Gram Vinyl)

Pedro the Lion – Winners Never Quit (Clear Vinyl, Indie Exclusive, Remastered)


Pink Floyd- Piper At The Gates of Dawn (180 Gram Vinyl)

Pink Floyd – The Wall (180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket, 2PC)

The Rolling Stones – Exile On Main Street (2PC)

Rage Against the Machine – Battle of Los Angeles 180 Gram Vinyl)

Suffers – Everything Here

Sir Sly – Don’t You Worry, Honey

Stevie Vaughan Ray & Double Trouble – The Essential Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble (2PC)


Sublime – Sublime (2LP, 180 Gram Vinyl)

Talking Heads – More Songs About Buildings & Food (180 Gram Vinyl)

Ty Segall & White Fence – Joy (Poster)

Tyler Childers – Purgatory

The War on Drugs – Deeper Understanding (Black, Digital Download Card, 2PC)

Yelawolf – Love Story

Yelawolf – Trunk Muzik 0-60

Summertime New Vinyl Thursday has it all! Come get some new music. We are open until 9 pm.

Please follow our very active Facebook and Instagram accounts to stay up on all the vinyl news.

Turntables? We got ’em in every price range at the best prices anywhere- including the award winning U-Turn Orbit Plus!

Can’t quite afford that box set or U-Turn Orbit Plus turntable you have been eyeing? Bring us some records you don’t like anymore. Bring us the records in your Mom’s basement. Bring us the records in your Grammy’s attic. Just bring us some records. We will give you cash or 20% more in store credit. It’s a win win.


Thanks for reading this week’s Summertime New Vinyl Thursday blog post. Mention you read it before you check out and we will give you 20% off any one item. Offer good through 7/25/18. We love ya!

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff,

Sherman, Gordon, Daniel, Dylan, David, Jonathan, and Dionna.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodMusicStore #NewVinylThursday