Summer of Love New Vinyl Thursday

It’s Rhino Records Summer of Love New Vinyl Thursday. Rhino Records has been commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Summer of Love with special, limited edition, indie only releases. Check out more information throughout this week’s list of new vinyl arrivals:


Alice Cooper – Paranormal (Gatefold LP Jacket, 180 Gram Vinyl, 45 RPM, 2LP)


Arcade Fire – Everything Now (180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket, O-Card Packaging)


Aretha Franklin – Aretha Arrives (50th Anniversary Mono Version on 180G Vinyl)

Alt-J – Relaxer


Brenton Wood – Baby You Got It


Blackstreet – Another Level (Import, 2LP)

Blondie – Pollinator (Digital Download Card)

The Beatles – Revolver (Mono Sound)


Coheed & Cambria – In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (2LP)

Weekly Review:

“Every once in a while, a band comes along that redefines a genre in a new way. Most bands are lucky to get such respect for one album, but in the light of Progressive Rock, there are very few that leave their mark for long.  In that way, Coheed and Cambria have proven time and time again that they are the real deal.
Following the pschyadelic-sounding “Second Stage Turbine Blade”, their Sophomore album “In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: III” is an album that will leave you elated, and yet, to some degree, maybe a bit confused. For the album is a story in itself. Lead singer Claudio Sanchez has brought his story “The Amory Wars” (a comic book series that I also highly recommend) to life through his music. However, “In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: III” (Abbreviated “IKSSE:III:) is reputable as the start of something special. From its fantastic title track, to the thrilling “The Crowing” and the deceivingly upbeat “The Camper Velourium I: Faint of Hearts”, Coheed redefines themselves for the first time, of the many times to come.

The sound of “IKSSE:III” is one of ever-changing flow, but without missing a beat, Coheed and Cambria establishes a sound that will take you to far away places, all while enjoying the ride.”

-A.S. Fichman

The Chainsmokers – Memories…Do Not Open (150 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket, Download Insert)


Dave Matthews – Live At Red Rocks 8.15.95 (150 Gram Vinyl, Boxed Set, Download Insert, 4LP)


Dusty Springfield – Dusty In Memphis (Rhino Records Summer of Love 50th Anniversary limited edition, indie only 180g)

Die Antwoord – Mount Ninji And Da Nice Time Kid (Gatefold LP Jacket, Digital Download Card, 2LP)

Dr. Dre – Chronic

David Bowie & Trevor Jones – Labyrinth Soundtrack


The Eagles – Their Greatest Hits Volumes 1 & 2 (180 Gram Vinyl, 2LP)


Fairport Convention – Liege And Lief (180 Gram Vinyl)


Gary Bartz NTU Troop – Harlem Bush Music – Uhuru


Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion I (2LP)


Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion II (2LP)

Ghost B.C. – Meliora


The Heliocentrics – The Sunshine Makers (Original Soundtrack)


Hiss Golden Messenger – Bad Debt (Digital Download Card)


Hiss Golden Messenger – Haw


Hiss Golden Messenger – Lateness of Dancers (Digital Download Card)


Hiss Golden Messenger – Poor Moon (Digital Download Card)


Hiss Golden Messenger – Southern Grammar (Digital Download Card)


Imagine Dragons – Night Visions

Weekly Review:

“With a refreshingly diverse sound, its no wonder Imagine Dragons has become a inspirational force of nature. Both their debut album, “Night Visions”, and their sophomore album “Smoke+Mirrors” were well developed joyrides, with an often cheery and whimsical sound and catchy inspirational lyrics. There newest album, “Evolve”, which just dropped, is no exception. With songs like “Whatever it Takes”, “Believer”, and “Thunder”, they show exactly why they have endeared so many fans. Between the smoother tracks like “I Don’t Know Why” and “Dancing In The Dark”, and the uplifting beats (and words) of songs like “Whatever It Takes” and “Believer”, it has a certain catchiness . If you liked “Night Visions” or “Smoke+Mirrors” you should definitely pick up a copy of “Evolve” today, and even if you are not familiar with their last two albums, if you want to listen to something light and rather cheery to break away from the heaviness of other albums, definitely give “Evolve” a listen.”

-A.S. Fichman


Judy Collins – Wildflowers (Rhino Records Summer of Love 50th Anniversary limited edition, indie only 180g)


Leadbelly – American Epic: The Best Of Lead Belly (180 Gram Vinyl, Remastered)


Leaf Hound – Growers of Mushroom (reissue of ultra rare- often quoted as the most collectible album of all time (originals sell in the thousands of dollars) hard rock album)


Leon Bridges – Coming Home (180 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert)


Link Wray – Link Wray (Gatefold LP Jacket, Remastered, Reissue)


Lorde – Pure Heroine

Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin 2 (180 Gram Vinyl, Remastered)


Morphine – Cure for Pain (180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket)


Muddy Waters – Electric Mud [Import]

Missy Elliott – Supa Dupa Fly (Rhino Records Summer of Love 50th Anniversary limited edition, indie only 180g 2LP)

The Monkees – Summer Of Love (Rhino Records Summer of Love 50th Anniversary limited edition, indie only 180g)

Madvillain – Madvillainy (2LP)

Magic Sword – Volume 1 (Picture Disc Vinyl LP, Deluxe Edition, Digital Download Card, 2LP)

The Notorious B.I.G. – After Death (Colored Vinyl, 3LP)


Otis Redding – Lonely and Blue: The Deepest Soul Of Otis Redding (blue vinyl)


Pink Floyd – London 1966 – 1967


Radiohead – Amnesiac (2LP)

The Ramones – Ramones (180 Gram Vinyl)

Shakey Graves – Shakey Graves And The Horse He Rode In On (Nobody’s Fool & The Donor Blues EP) (180 Gram Vinyl, Extended Play, 2LP)

Samantha Fish – Chills & Fever

Television ‎– Live At The Old Waldorf – San Francisco, 6/29/78 (Extremely limited edition of the first RSD release)


Tim Buckley – Goodbye & Hello (Rhino Records Summer of Love 50th Anniversary limited edition, indie only 180g)


Tool – Lateralus (2LP)


Various Artists – Baby Driver Music From The Motion Picture (Gatefold LP Jacket, 2LP)


Various – Rough Guide To Bottleneck Blues (Second Edition) (Digital Download Card)


Various ‎- Walk The Line (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

The Weeknd – Beauty Behind the Madness (2LP)

The 50th Anniversary of the Summer of Love New Vinyl Thursday is upon us and Rhino Records has released some classic, collectible vinyl. Stop in your neighborhood records store, The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven to see all the releases.


If you haven’t had a chance to come by and see the new space, please do! We are proud of how things are coming together and want our friends and neighbors to see the results of our hard work. Come by and bring a friend.

We haven’t stopped buying used vinyl every day. We just have more room to put out even MORE! Check our Facebook and Instagram for up to the minute posts about all things vinyl.


We are going to start having even more reviews on our website. Click HERE to read A.S. Fichman’s in depth take on Panic! at the Disco’s first album (recently reissued), “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out”.


Need any vinyl cleaning or storage products? We have you covered.

Thanks for reading this week’s post- Summer of Love New Vinyl Thursday. We hope you enjoyed it. If you would like to write a review or have ideas on how to make the store even better, please reach out. We love to hear from our vinyl club friends. We appreciate your support. Thanks! Mention that you read this week’s post and we will gladly give you 20% off ANY one item at The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven- YOUR neighborhood record store- through 8/2/17.

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff,


Jonathan, Dionna, David, Sherman, Gordon and Dylan.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodRecordStore #NewVinylThursday #SummerOfLove