REM New Vinyl Thursday

It’s REM New Vinyl Thursday! Check out this week’s new vinyl arrivals:

AC/DC – Back in Black (Remastered)

Baroness – Gold & Grey (Indie Exclusive)

Black Sabbath – Paranoid (180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition, Black)

Brainticket – Cottonwoodhill (Limited Edition, Red)

Brownsville Station – Brownsville Station (The Red Album)(White, Limited Edition)

The Cardigans – Long Gone Before Daylight

Czarface – Czarface Meets Metal Face

Freddie Hubbard – Open Sesame

Glass Animals – Zaba

Halsey – Badlands


Kate Bush – Kick Inside (2018 Remaster)

Jay-Z – The Blueprint

Jamila Woods – Legacy! Legacy! (Pink)

Jimi Hendrix – Are You Experienced

Joy Division / New Order – Total

Weekly Review:

Total’ features 5 Joy Division tracks and 12 New Order tunes. A quick history lesson for those unversed in either bands history; Joy Division were an influential post-punk unit from Manchester, England, releasing only 2 LP’s in ’79 and ‘80 before their singer/songwriter Ian Curtis committed suicide, leaving his band mates, guitarist Sumner, drummer Morris, and bass player behind. Regenerating a year later as New Order, and along with new recruit Gillian Gilbert, soon recovered, and shaped their sound into something equally new and influential – an intriguing blend of alternative rock and electro.
The set kicks off with 5 Joy Division tracks, all classics, all stunningly dark. The 5 numbers are the usual suspects and include such standouts as ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’, ‘Transmission’, ‘She’s Lost Control’ and ‘Isolation’.
The rest of the disc is made up of New Order hits, and it’s really thrilling to move from the beautifully tragic post-punk of Joy Division, to the fresh, lively bounce of New Order’s highlights. Like with ‘Joy’, 12 tracks is never going to be sufficient enough to adorn listeners with the full brilliance of New Order – Although it’s by no means comprehensive, all the New Order hits are present: the irrepressible ‘Blue Monday’, ‘True Faith’, ‘The Perfect Kiss’. This is all great music and pretty much essential listening for those who’ve yet to discover either band. And ‘Total’ offers a unique chance to view both Joy Division’s and New Order’s work in one brief, yet spectacular bundle that comes in a nice gatefold packaging and quality pressing. Stop in and special order a copy of this or any other hard to find vinyl from the team at The Vinyl Underground. Its quick and painless and they do a great job. -Albert Schmurr

Leon Bridges – Good Thing (180 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert)

Miles Davis – Bitches Brew

Maggie Rogers – Heard It In A Past Life

Neil Young & Stray Gators – Tuscaloosa (live)

Nirvana – Nevermind

Phantogram – Eyelid Movies

R.E.M. – In Time: The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (180 Gram Vinyl)

The Rolling Stones – HONK

Rory Gallagher – Blues

Ryan Bingham – American Love Song

Snoop Dogg – Doggystyle

Soft Machine – Live in London in the Early Sixties

Southern Avenue – Keep On

Weekly Review:

Southern Avenue is more than just a street in Memphis, TN. It’s the easternmost border of Soulsville, USA, the original home of Stax records. It’s also the name of a Soul/Blues/R&B outfit that deserves your attention. Southern Avenue recently released their sophomore album, Keep On. It’s a melting pot of various styles and influences that each member brings to the larger group. One listen to the album and you will hear what I am referring to.
She Gets Me High is a foot stomping blues based jam that grinds it’s way into an incendiary guitar solo. We’ve Got the Music is a soulful duet that will put a little extra swing in your thing. Title track Keep On really showcases the uber talented vocals of Tierinii Jackson. Savior is a R&B tinged ballad that rolls right into funktafied jam Switchup. The variety yet consistency of this album works well. Each song feels at home but unique enough to stand out. These songs rip on the record, I can only dream of how awesome the would be live. Sadly, nothing on the books for KC yet, so for now, pick up a copy to hold you over. -Brad Simmons

Team Dresch – Captain My Captain (Colored Vinyl, Blue, Indie Exclusive, Digital Download Card)

Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy (Gatefold LP Jacket, 150 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert, 2PC)

Tyler, The Creator – Goblin (MP3 Download)

Victoria Spivey – Kings & the Queen


Vampire Weekend – Father Of The Bride (Gatefold LP Jacket, Poster, 140 Gram Vinyl)

The Velvet Underground – Velvet Underground and Nico (180 Gram Vinyl)

X – Under The Big Black Sun

Thanks for checking out the REM New Vinyl Thursday list!

We add new titles to our clearance new vinyl selection regularly. All titles are priced at cost or way BELOW! Brand NEW vinyl starting at $5! Come get some great NEW vinyl at the lowest prices ANYWHERE!

We have official Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven shirts! Come in today and pick one up. They are available in all sizes (Small- 2XL!)

Please follow our very active Facebook and Instagram accounts to stay up on all the vinyl news.

Thanks for reading this week’s REM New Vinyl Thursday post! Mention that you did before you check out and we will take 20% off of ANY one item in the store! Offer good through 06/19/19.

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff:

Sherman, Gordon, Daniel, Dylan, David, Jonathan, Dionna, and Heather.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodMusicStore #NewVinylThursday