Morphine New Vinyl Thursday

It’s Morphine New Vinyl Thursday! Check out all of this week’s new vinyl arrivals:

2Pac – All Eyez on Me

Alkaline Trio – Is This Thing Cursed (Indie Exclusive)

Amnesty – Free Your Mind: The 700 West Sessions

Barenaked Ladies – Stunt

Bishop Briggs – Church of Scars

Cat Power – Wanderer (Clear Vinyl, Limited Edition, Indie Exclusive)

Cigarettes After Sex – Cigarettes After Sex (Digital Download Card)

David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (180 Gram Vinyl)

Elle King – Shake The Spirit (140 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket)

Eric Church – Desperate Man (180 Gram Vinyl)

Fantastic Negrito – Please Don’t Be Dead (Indie Exclusive)

First Aid Kit – Tender Offerings (10-Inch Vinyl, Extended Play)

Greta Van Fleet – Anthem Of The Peaceful Army

The Grateful Dead – From The Mars Hotel (Rocktober 2018 Exclusive)

The Grateful Dead – Steal Your Face (rocktober 2018 Exclusive)

Janelle Monae – Dirty Computer (Digital Download Card)

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Live From The Ryman (Colored Vinyl, Green, Indie Exclusive)

Jewel – Greatest Hits (Gatefold LP Jacket)

John Lennon – Imagine: The Ultimate Mixes (Remixes)

Kanye West – Ye

Kendrick Lamar – Damn.

Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born (Original Soundtrack)

Weekly Review:

If you have seen the previews for the movie “A Star is Born”, you can tell that the movie is going to be huge. It’s Bradley Coopers first movie as a director and singer and Lady Gaga’s first movie as an actress…

Wait, Bradley Cooper sings and Lady Gaga acts? Don’t you mean Bradley Cooper acts and Lady Gaga sings?


This is a Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga album, which on paper sounds pretty awful, except it’s not. It’s really good.  It’s good because Cooper spent months taking voice and guitar lessons from coach and co-star Lukas Nelson (son of Willie). It’s good because they brought in Nashville super-producer Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson) to run the show.  It’s good because an A-team of songwriters contributed to the songs on this album, including Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Diane Warren, Andrew Wyatt, Jason Isbell and Lukas Nelson.  They wrote the songs to go along with the movie, but many of these songs shine on their own.

“Maybe it’s Time” is a track by Jason Isbell that Bradley Cooper performs live at the Glastonbury Festival, which is evident by the cheering crowd that can be heard on the track.  It’s a well written tale of a man coming to terms with the fact that the old ways might not always be the best ways, a theme that is all to real in the film.  Jason Isbell is an amazing songwriter and this song is another to add to his ever growing catalog of beautiful, thoughtful music.

“Shallow” – a duet between Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga is the obvious hit on this soundtrack.  It’s the song you hear in the previews, and the one you will hear all over the radio soon.  It’s a soulful duet, with Gaga really showing off why she is one of the best in the world. No spoilers but this scene in the movie is pretty special.

“I’ll Never Love Again” is the second coming of Whitney Houston. Lady Gaga unleashes a vocal tsunami, one of which we have not seen since “I Will Always Love You.”  Stylistically and vocally Gaga shines, and her contribution to this project is quite impressive.

Still not sold?  This album is robust with 34 total tracks, 18 original songs and a cover song. It’s a 2x LP gatefold beauty that comes with stunning inner sleeves and some bonus photos from the movie.  The pressing sounds fantastic, with a clear improvement over the digital files I had used to preview some of the tracks.  While most soundtracks are mix tapes of a variety of artists contributing a song, this is a collection of songs written specifically for the movie – making it a soundtrack to own as you won’t find these tunes anywhere else.

Brad Simmons

Metallica – Garage Days Re-revisited (Colored Vinyl, Red, Orange, Indie Exclusive)

Morphine – Yes (Limited Edition, Gatefold LP Jacket, 180 Gram Vinyl, Expanded Version)

Nas – Nasir (Gatefold LP Jacket)

Neneh Cherry – Broken Politics

Night Beats – Fuzz Club Session

Nine Inch Nails – Broken (With Bonus 7″)

Prince – Purple Rain (180 Gram Vinyl, Remastered)

Ron Gallo – Stardust Birthday Party (Colored Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

Sade – The Best Of Sade (180 Gram Vinyl)

Sleep – Sciences (Black)

Twenty One Pilots – Trench (Gatefold LP Jacket, Colored Vinyl, Green, Indie Exclusive, Digital Download Card)

Wilco – Wilco (Picture Disc Vinyl LP)

Morphine New Vinyl Thursday has it all! Come get some new music. We are open until 9 pm.

Please follow our very active Facebook and Instagram accounts to stay up on all the vinyl news.

Speaking of news, the Black Friday Record Store day list is live! Click HERE to join our event and see all of the goodies that will be available on November 23rd only at independent records stores like The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven. We will open at 7 am and we always order every title and have them all priced BELOW retail! So plan now to shop with us first to save time AND money!

Thanks for reading this week’s Morphine New Vinyl Thursday post! Mention that you did before you check out and we will take 20% off of ANY one item in the store! Offer good through 10/24/18.

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff.

Sherman, Gordon, Daniel, Dylan, David, Jonathan, and Dionna.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodMusicStore #NewVinylThursday #BFRSD18