Freddie Gibbs & Madlib New Vinyl Thursday

It’s Freddie Gibbs & Madlib New Vinyl Thursday! Check out this week’s new vinyl arrivals:

A Day to Remember – Homesick (Colored Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Art Ensemble of Chicago – We Are On The Edge (Limited Edition, Expanded Version)

Avenged Sevenfold – The Best Of 2005-2013

Borns – Live on KCRWS Morning Becomes Eclectic

Brainticket – Psychonaut (Green, Limited Edition)

Breakbot – Baby I’m Yours (2017 Edition)

Bud Powell – Amazing Bud Powell Vol 3 & Vol 4

The Black Keys – Let’s Rock

Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty (Bonus Tracks, Remastered)

Bleached – Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough? (Colored Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Billie Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? (Colored Vinyl)

Chasman – Synth-e-fuge

Comet Is Coming – Channel the Spirits (With CD)

Calender – It’s A Monster (Limited Edition, Reissue)

The Cramps – Flamejob

Crosby, Stills & Nash – Crosby Stills & Nash (Burgundy Colored Vinyl)

Durand Jones & The Indications – Durand Jones & The Indications

Frank Zappa – Mothermania: The Best Of The Mothers

Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Bandana (150 Gram Vinyl)

Gary Chandler – Outlook

Graham Nash – Over The Years

Grant Green – Grant’s First Stand (Bonus Tracks)

Ghost – Popestar (Extended Play)

Gil Heron Scott – Spirits

Irata – Tower (Orange, 180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Lanco – Hallelujah Nights (150 Gram Vinyl)

Lhasa – La Llorona

Lhasa – Lhasa

Lauryn Hill – Miseducation of Lauryn Hill

The Lumineers – Cleopatra

Motley Crue – Theatre Of Pain (180 Gram Vinyl, Reissue)

Motley Crue – Greatest Hits

Misfits – Die Die My Darling

Misfits – Misfits Collection

Miles Davis – Miles Smiles

Miles Davis – Cookin with the Miles Davis Quintet

Of Monsters and Men – Fever Dream (Gatefold LP Jacket, Clear Vinyl)

Otis Redding – Lonely and Blue: The Deepest Soul Of Otis Redding

Prince – Originals

Weekly Review:

I have been waiting many weeks to listen to an review the latest Prince vault excavation, “Originals”, which brings together 15 demos that he wrote for other artists, many of them hits, a further testament to how thoroughly this singular artist came to dominate a decade of music.

The demos on “Originals” mostly come from this period of extreme creativity, 1981-85, while putting out four critically claimed albums, Prince was writing hits for the Time , the Bangles and Sheila E., among others.

“Originals” contains elaborately arranged tracks with Prince playing most of the instruments and singing most of the vocal parts. So accomplished are these demos that some artists simply used them as their own master recording and then added their own vocals.

The Prince virtuosity is in full effect: the elastic bass line on “Sex Shooter,” later a hit for Apollonia; the piano melody that provides the backbone for “Manic Monday,” which the Bangles rode to No. 2 on the singles chart; the electronic severity of “Make-Up,” which was handed to Vanity for a 1982 album. Prince’s writing for and with percussionist Sheila E. was particularly inspired, including the funk of “Holly Rock,” the guitar-stoked “Dear Michaelangelo,” and the strutting “The Glamorous Life”.

My overriding impression is wonderment: Prince was on such a roll that he was giving away tracks that could’ve provided the backbone for at least another terrific album of his own during this era, music that ranges from the funk mischief of “Jungle Love” to the falsetto tenderness of “Baby, You’re a Trip.”

Most famously, there is “Nothing Compares 2 U.” Prince’s demo is densely arranged, which suggests that he thought it could be a hit for someone. He was right, Sinead O’Connor rolled it out in January 1990, capping a decade in which nothing could compare to Prince. Pick up this and many awesome new arrivals both new and used from the gang at The Vinyl Underground. -Albert Schmurr

Paul Butterfield – Keep On Moving (Gold, 140 Gram Vinyl)

Queen – News of the World (180 Gram Vinyl, Collector’s Edition, Reissue)

Robbie Fulks – Country Love Songs (180 Gram Vinyl, Digital Download Card)

The Runaways – Queens Of Noise

The Runaways – Runaways

The Raconteurs – Help Us Stranger

ScHoolboy Q – Crash Talk

Suicide – Suicide

Tycho – Weather (Colored Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

Van Morrison – Moondance (Orange Colored Vinyl, 140 Gram Vinyl)

Various Artists – Stranger Things: Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series, Season 3) (Poster, With Bonus 7″, Gatefold LP Jacket, 150 Gram Vinyl)

Violent Femmes – Hotel Last Resort (Indie Exclusive)

Thanks for checking out the Freddie Gibbs & Madlib New Vinyl Thursday list!

We add new titles to our clearance new vinyl selection regularly. All titles are priced at cost or way BELOW! Brand NEW vinyl starting at $5! Come get some great NEW vinyl at the lowest prices ANYWHERE!

We have official Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven shirts! Come in today and pick one up. They are available in all sizes (Small- 2XL!)

Please follow our very active Facebook and Instagram accounts to stay up on all the vinyl news.

Thanks for reading this week’s Freddie Gibbs & Madlib New Vinyl Thursday post! Mention that you did before you check out and we will take 20% off of ANY one item in the store! Offer good through 07/31/19.

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff:

Sherman, Gordon, Daniel, Dylan, David, Jonathan, Dionna, and Heather.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodMusicStore #NewVinylThursday