45 Years New Vinyl Thursday

It’s 45 Years New Vinyl Thursday. 45 years is how long 7th Heaven has been bringing our community new music each week. Our Anniversary savings continue through this week!

Blood Orange – Negro Swan (Colored Vinyl, Orange, Indie Exclusive, Digital Download Card)

Billy Gibbons – The Big Bad Blues (Limited Edition, Colored Vinyl, Red, Indie Exclusive)

Cat Power – Wanderer (Clear Vinyl, Limited Edition, Indie Exclusive)

Childish Gambino – “Awaken, My Love”

Chris Stapleton – Traveller

Coheed & Cambria – Unheavenly Creatures (Colored Vinyl, Red, Indie Exclusive, Digital Download Card)

Cowboy Junkies – All That Reckoning

David Wise – Battletoads in Battlemaniacs (Original Soundtrack)(Colored Vinyl)

El-P – Cancer 4 Cure (Colored Vinyl, Pink)

First Aid Kit – Tender Offerings (10-Inch Vinyl, Extended Play)

Fucked Up – Dose Your Dreams (Colored Vinyl, Yellow, Indie Exclusive, Digital Download Card)

Gene Clark – Gene Clark Sings for You

George Michael – Listen Without Prejudice (180 Gram Vinyl)

Gorillaz – The Now Now (Digital Download Card)

Greta Van Fleet – Black Smoke Rising

Gunship – Gunship (Gatefold LP Jacket)

Henry Junjo Lawes – Junjo Presents: The Evil Curse Of The Vampires

Iggy Pop & Underworld – Teatime Dub Encounters

Janelle Monae – Dirty Computer (Digital Download Card)

Jean Perrey Jacques – Prelude Au Sommeil

Joe Bonamassa – Redemption (Gatefold LP Jacket)

Jungle – For Ever

Kow Otani – Shadow of the Colossus (Original Video Game Soundtrack) (Colored Vinyl)

L7 – L7 (Clear Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

Lauryn Hill – Miseducation of Lauryn Hill

Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin 3 (180 Gram Vinyl)

Leroy Powell & The Messengers – The Overlords Of The Cosmic Revelation

Metric – Tbd (White, Indie Exclusive)

Michael Jackson – Scream

Mike Farris – Silver & Stone (150 Gram Vinyl)

Modest Mouse – This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About (Colored Vinyl, Pink)

Morphine – Cure for Pain (180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold LP Jacket)

Mt.Joy – Mt.Joy

Nathaniel Rateliff – Nathaniel Rateliff and The Night Sweats

Omer Coleman Jr – Lovin Babe Sure Is Fun

Paul McCartney- Egypt Station

Weekly Review:

Paul McCartney takes the listener on a ride in “Egypt Station,” the newest addition to his infinite discography. The album is executed with precision from the very start,  with dominating guitar riffs and a distinctive growling voice included.

Guitar meshes with heavy drums and trumpet in “Come On To Me”.  It’s made immediately clear that McCartney is an expert in choosing the correct blend of instruments to create memorable songs. He uses a piano to carry the uplifting melody of “I Don’t Know” and a acoustic guitar to carry the story of “Happy With You.” 

“Back in Brazil” proves that his divergence from rock can be effective. “Back in Brazil” is smooth, introducing a flute to the defining bass, guitar and drum that dominate the album. “Nights are for dancing…and days are for the sun”  encapsulates the feeling of this song…lively, jazzy and relaxed.

Side two of the album is where McCartney showcases his skill. While the first half switches between lighthearted love and grittier rock, the latter half has a more enthralling and inviting tone. “Ladies and gentlemen…Standing before you with something important to say,” McCartney sings before launching into the optimistic and energized melody of “People Want Peace”. Later on, “Caesar Rock,” though it’s repeated lyrics, never becomes repetitive. McCartney’s ability to stitch together revs of solo guitar and snarling vocals makes it a notable track.

The album concludes with “Hunt You Down/Naked/C-Link,” the three-part ensemble is the anthem of “Egypt Station.” It combines the album’s trademark heavy guitar with stimulating vocals at the start, eventually slowing down to a drum-focused middle section. The final few minutes are a slow outro, with a surging instrumental section filled by a orchestral swell and  matching electric guitar riffs. This combination of sounds is another testament to McCartney’s musicality which is exemplified in this final stop of the journey. Freeing this final section from vocals allows the listener to think over the past 16 tracks, savor the expiring seconds as they slip away, and think, in the song’s wake, of the nearly perfect McCartney rock that silhouettes “Egypt Station.”

Stop by and pick up a copy from your friends at the Vinyl Underground.   

Albert Schmurr

Prince – 4ever

Radiohead – In Rainbows (180 Gram Vinyl)

Radkey – Delicious Rock Noise

Sam & Dave – The Best Of Sam and Dave (180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Saâda Bonaire – Saada Bonaire (Clear Vinyl)

Shuggie Otis – Inspiration Information (180 Gram Vinyl)

Silversun Pickups – Swoon (Colored Vinyl, Pink)

Simon & Garfunkel – Greatest Hits (140 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert)

Slash – Living The Dream (Colored Vinyl, Red, Indie Exclusive)

Slipknot – Slipknot (Limited Edition)

Slothrust – Pact

Soccer Mommy – Clean (Colored Vinyl, Pink)

Sturgill Simpson – Metamodern Sounds in Country Music

Taylor Swift – Reputation (Picture Disc Vinyl LP)

Tony Joe White – Bad Mouthin’ (White, Digital Download Card)

Tyler Childers – Purgatory (Colored Vinyl, Pink)

U2 – The Joshua Tree

Uncle Acid & Deadbeats – Blood Lust

Ween – Chocolate & Cheese (Colored Vinyl)

Will Hoge – My American Dream

The Weeknd – Kiss Land

45 Years New Vinyl Thursday has it all! Come get some new music. We are open until 9 pm.

Please follow our very active Facebook and Instagram accounts to stay up on all the vinyl news.

When we celebrate, we celebrate! When we have a sale, it’s one worthy of 45 years of business. EVERY piece of clearance new vinyl is only $10! No limit, no restrictions. If it has a clearance sticker- it’s $10! Week one was so much fun we’ve decided to do it for a 2nd week. More new stock added daily. Come celebrate 45 years with 7th Heaven and get yourself a bargain (or 10)!

Turntables? We got ’em in every price range at the best prices anywhere!

Thanks for reading this week’s 45 Years New Vinyl Thursday blog post. We love ya!

Enjoy the music and we will see you soon. Your loving Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven staff.

Sherman, Gordon, Daniel, Dylan, David, Jonathan, and Dionna.

#TheVinylUndergroundKC #WeAreLocal #YourNeighborhoodMusicStore #NewVinylThursday